National Park Service, Department of Interior Image with Arrowhead ParknetLinks to Pastcontact Title Image entitled Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program, Preserving America's Heritage
home link imageprogram description link imagegrants/cost-share link imagecurrent news link imageconferences/training linkconferences/training link imagepublications link imagelinks link imageroute 66 map link imagecontact us link image


Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program
Federal Advisory Council Established

(Released: November, 2005)

A Federal Advisory Council for the Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program has been established to advise the Secretary of Interior on matters relating to the Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program. The Council will make recommendations on ways to best preserve the most representative and significant properties along Route 66, and on program activities such as cost-share grants and types/levels of technical assistance that the National Park Service should provide partners along the route. Fifteen members have been appointed by the Secretary of Interior for four-year terms to represent various agencies and organizations that have an established preservation interest in Route 66. Nominations were solicited from State Historic Preservation offices, Departments of Transportation, Bureau of Land Management, U.S. Forest Service, Federal Highway Administration, Route 66 Associations, the National Historic Route 66 Federation, and tribal governments. The first meeting of the Council is tentatively scheduled to take place in February, 2006.

Appointed members are: Mr. David P. Bricker, California Department of Transportation; Mr. James M. Conkle, California Route 66 Preservation Foundation; Mr. David King Dunaway, University of New Mexico; Ms. Melvena Heisch, Oklahoma Historical Society; Mr. Michael Jackson, Illinois Historic Preservation Agency; Mr. David Knudson, National Historic Route 66 Federation; Mr. John W. Murphey, New Mexico Historic Preservation Division; Ms. MaryAnn Naber, Federal Highway Administration; Ms. Carolyn Gallagher Pendleton, Kansas Historic Route 66 Association; Mr. Tommy Gene Pike, Route 66 Association of Missouri; Mr Jim Ross, Oklahoma Route 66 Association; Ms. Phyllis T. Seitts, Bureau of Land Management; Mr. Gregory William Smith, Texas Historical Commission; Mr. R. Scott Taylor, Missouri Department of Transportation; and Mr. Michael Wallis, Historian & Biographer of the American West.

For more information about the Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program, please visit If you have a question about the Council, or about the Program in general, please email

Michael Taylor
Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program
National Park Service


captions pagePrivacy & Disclaimer