The Matthew Jansen House, referred to locally as the "House of Doctors," boasts sturdy limestone construction with 20-inch thick walls. Originally built before the Revolutionary War, British troops attempted to burn this home and much of the rest of Kingston on October 16, 1777, as punishment for the town's role in housing and protecting the newly formed New York State government. With only the walls remaining, the home was rebuilt by 1796, as the residence of several of Kingston's doctors. At some point in the 19th century, a small addition was added to the right side of the building and used as a doctor's office, making it an attractive and convenient property for doctors moving into the community. The decorations that adorn the house testify to its old age--architectural components from several different eras, like cornice modillions and pediment door overhangs, are mixed in with original elements like the six-panel "Dutch Doors." In the 20th- century, the Matthew Jansen House has been used as a print shop as well as a music studio, but has been recently restored, and is now once again used as a private residence. With its massive limestone walls, and Dutch and English architectural influences, the Matthew Jansen House is one of the finest historical houses in Kingston.
Matthew Jansen House
Photograph by John E. Reinhardt
The Matthew Jansen House is located in the Stockade Historic District at the corner of John Street and Crown Streets. The property is a private residence and not open to the public.