Resurrection Manor, St. Mary's County, Maryland, July 1974. National Historic Landmark Program photograph by
Resurrection Manor is an example of early brick architecture in the United States dating from about 1660 to 1720, and possibly later, and as a rare survivor of a brick house in the southern colonies from that period. Originally built as a one-room house with a steep stair leading to the garrett, a later one-and-a-half story addition was added to the house transforming its footprint into a hall-and-parlor configuration. The original house was also one-and-a-half story and measured 24 feet wide and was 20 1/2 feet deep with a steep-gabled wood shingle roof. The one-bay wide addition was added to the south end of the original building increasing the home's width to 40 feet. The house is illustrative of the evolution of a southern one-room brick structure into a hall-and-parlor plan house.
Built amidst a 4,000-acre farm granted to Thomas Cornwaleys in 1650, it stands as one of the earliest manorial grants in Maryland. Although an exact date of construction is unknown, Cornwaleys ordered bricks in 1660. The amount ordered corresponds to the number of bricks used in the structure. Resurrection Manor was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1970 for its significance as a rare surviving architectural type in the South.
Resurrection Manor, St. Mary's County, Maryland, January 2005. National
Historic Landmark Program photograph by John Sprinkle.
In 2002, the house was demolished in preparation for the construction of a single family home. Because of the loss of the building, National Historic Landmark designation for Resurrection Manor was withdrawn on February 17, 2006.