On-line Book
Book Cover to Administrative History: Organizational Structures of the NPS 1917 to 1985 by Russ Olsen. [Image of mountain and tall grass]
Organizational Structures of the NPS 1917 to 1985



Organizational Structure


current topic Organizational Charts

Naturalists, Rangers, & Historians

Senior Administration Officers


Key Staff Officials

Number "Two"

Senior Operations Officers

Organizational Structure of the National Park Service
- 1917 to 1985 -

Administrative History

Organizational Charts

Chart 33: 09-19-1973 to 05-13-1976

Mr. Walker's only organization with four Associate Directors and also showing the creation of additional regional offices.

Director Walker and his staff
Director Walker and his staff. Front row L to R: Howard H. Chapman, Regional Director, Western Region, San Francisco, California; Manus J. (Jack) Fish, Director, National Capital Parks; Jerry Wagers, Regional Director, North Atlantic Region, Boston, Massachusetts; Frank F. Kowski, Regional Director, Southwest Region, Santa Fe, New Mexico; Joseph C. Rumburg, Jr.; David D. Thompson, Jr., Regional Director, Southeast Region, Atlanta, Georgia; Ernest A. Connally, Associate Director, Professional Services; Richard C. Curry, Associate Director, Legislation; Back row L to R: Douglass Blaser, Assistant to the Director; Theodore Sudia, Chief Scientist; Lynn H. Thompson, Regional Director, Rocky Mountain Region; John E. Cook, Associate Director, Park System Management; Russell E. Dickenson, Deputy Director; J. Leonard Norwood, Associate Director, Administration; Merril D. (Dave) Beal, Regional Director, Midwest Region, Omaha, Nebraska; Chester L. Brooks, Regional Director, Mid-Atlantic Region, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; John Rutter, Regional Director, Pacific Northwest Region, Seattle, Washington.

Organizational Chart


History | Links to the Past | National Park Service | Search | Contact

National Park Service's ParkNet Home