On-line Book
Book Cover to Administrative History: Organizational Structures of the NPS 1917 to 1985 by Russ Olsen. [Image of mountain and tall grass]
Organizational Structures of the NPS 1917 to 1985



Organizational Structure


current topic Organizational Charts

Naturalists, Rangers, & Historians

Senior Administration Officers


Key Staff Officials

Number "Two"

Senior Operations Officers

Organizational Structure of the National Park Service
- 1917 to 1985 -

Administrative History

Organizational Charts

Chart 10: 1933 to 12-05-1934

The Assistant Director Operations function begins to look more and more like the Administrative arm of the Service and becomes responsible for the concessions function (Park Operators Accounts), the budget function (Control Division) and all of the Chief Clerks functions. The Field Education Division was physically moved to Washington. The Landscape Architecture Division is decentralized to Districts. The names Langley, Sager, Wosky and Baker show up for the first time; these same names will appear on many subsequent charts. Mr. Wirth's planning function was retitled Lands but it still retained the planning function as is evidenced by the subordinate units. Horace Albright was replaced by Arno Cammerer, Arthur Demaray becomes Associate Director, and Hillory Tolson becomes the Assistant Director, Operations. It was during this period that Executive Order 6166 was signed and the official name of the organization became "Office of National Parks, Buildings and Reservations," the official name did not again become National Park Service until March 10, 1934.

Merle Sager
Merle Sager, Landscape Architect, District 5. He retired as Chief Landscape Architect.

Organizational Chart



History | Links to the Past | National Park Service | Search | Contact

National Park Service's ParkNet Home